Nima Dilmaghani’s Technology Blog

Networking with a VPC in Windows Vista

Posted in engineering, Microsoft, networking, programming, sharepoint, software, vista, windows by nimad on January 22, 2007

 For my talk at the SF launch I need to do a demo of a client computer calling a SharePoint server.  Since I have one computer to do this on, I have to run the server inside a VPC and install the client software on the host computer.  Then I need to use the Microsoft Loopback Adapter to connect these two.  Here is the details on how to install and configure the Microsoft Loopback Adapter on Windows Vista.

1.       Install the Microsoft Loopback Adapter

Control Panel  à Add Hardware à Click Next on the “Welcome to Add Hardware Wizard”

On the page that comes up click the “Install the hardware that I manually select from a list” button then click Next à Choose Network adapters click Next à Under Manufacturer choose Microsoft Under Network Adapter choose Microsoft Loopback Adapter.  Click Next à Click Next 

 2.Assign a static IP Address to the Microsoft Loopback Adapter

Start à Control Panel à Manage Network Connections à You see a new network registered with a name like “Local Area Connection 2 Unidentified Network Microsoft Loopback Adapter”  à right click it and select Properties à click on TCP/IPv4 à click Properties  à Click use the following IP address à enter 192.168.1.10 (of course the two first numbers are what is important) for the IP Address and 255.255.255.0 for the subnet mask à Click OK.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ramu said, on February 23, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Hi

    I am looking for Assign a static IP Address to the Microsoft Loopback Adapter info from long time due to which i am not able to install Oracle 10g…Thanks a lot

    Regards
    Ramu

  2. vandana said, on April 16, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Hi,
    I am able to get to the part “Choose Network adapters click Next ” but after that i do not get any list from which to choose from. The system does not do anything – i get a message saying that it is retrieving a list of all devices, but nothing else happens.
    No other button like ‘back’ or cancel works. If i press these i get a message that the Add hardware is not responding.

    Looking forward to hearing from you for a suggestion as to how to proceed. I need to install the loopback adapter.

    Regards,
    Vandana

  3. nimad said, on April 16, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Vandana,

    I don’t know what is wrong that you are not getting this and I am really not the right person to trouble shoot your system remotely and a blog is not conducive to troubleshooting. I suggest contacting your company support team, trying Microsoft support, trying online forums. Trying this on a different box, possibly with a fresh image or rebooting and retrying.

  4. Helen said, on September 7, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Thanks

    Your instructions worked like a charm for me on an Oracle install.

  5. Joseph O. said, on October 11, 2008 at 7:49 am

    Great it works. Thank you very much in helping me and I will pass this to my colleagues at school. I am a DBA student and many of my colleagues had failed to get the loopback right. Kudos!

  6. […] bastou instalar o Microsoft Loopback Adapter e já passou a ser possivel configurar os IP’s manualmente (pois não tinha acesso ao […]

  7. Agarwal said, on December 27, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Thanks..It worked properlly

  8. sushant said, on January 12, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Hi. Thanks to the above participants. I have a windows 2008 server and I was wanting to install oracle 11g client. The ip address on the ms loop back adaptor shows a limited or no connecitvity and thus the setup gives a network error. Please advice. Installation of ms loop back is same as in vista. Thanks a lot.

  9. HR said, on January 12, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Works perfectly… Thank!!

  10. carlos said, on April 10, 2009 at 12:45 am

    WoW,thanks! this information was the missing piece to get my wua.la Filesystem Integration working with vista 32bit SP1

  11. Yahya said, on April 23, 2009 at 8:05 am

    hi, as stated above I have tried that many times and still having limited connectivity on VISTA..please help me out because I have some pending work to do ….thanks..

  12. Milan said, on May 27, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Hello all, I am wondering whether anyone can help me or have some experience with installing SAP ABAP NetWeaver 7.0 where the Microsoft Loopback Adapter is necessary to install – I have Windows Vista.
    I installed the Microsoft Loopback Adapter exactly as described above and after starting the application server following message pops up:

    Error! Connection failed to node (local) for database NSP:
    -24700,ERR_DBMSRV_NOSTART: Could not start DBM server.
    -24701,ERR_EXHNDLR: Could not initialize exception handler.
    -24748,ERR_FILEOPEN: Error opening file C:\sapdb\data\wrk\dbmsrv_DATART-PC.err
    -24826,ERR_NIERROR: Can not open file ‘C:\sapdb\data\wrk\dbmsrv_DATART-PC.err’.
    Error: Error while calling dbmcli
    “C:\sapdb\programs\pgm\dbmcli” -d NSP -u *,* db_offline -nc

    DOES ANYONE HAVE A CLUE WHAT TO DO WITH THIS, I ASKED IN MANY FORUMS AND NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO HELP ME SO FAR EVEN IF I FOUND OUT I WAS NOT THE ONLY ONE HAVING THIS PROBLEM.
    THANKS A LOT. MILAN.

    • Praveen Kumar said, on April 11, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      Hi Milan,

      Praveen here. Is your problem with DB solved on Windows Vista ?.
      Asking because even I am facing the same problem. Could you please share the solution to this problem?

      Thanks in advance,

      Praveen

  13. Mani said, on August 14, 2009 at 5:13 am

    Great!

    Thanks a lot.. finally able to install my 11g DB.

    Thanks again..

  14. Mohammad said, on January 19, 2010 at 10:33 am

    That was helpful

    Now I’m able to install Oracle10g R2 in my Vista

    Thanks a lot

    Regards,
    Mohammad
    Saudi Arabia

  15. Install Software said, on February 2, 2010 at 5:45 am

    Hi there.
    Great installation help…thanks, fixed my problem.
    Anyone reading this guys stuff should bookmark it.

  16. Chris said, on March 22, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Great job thanks man!

  17. Teddy Pinkerton said, on September 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    Hello I need some help help I have a virtual network a host 2 servers,3 children, and 2 parents I can ping anyone on my network except the host and I cant ping anyone3 from my host whats going on

  18. mavic crossride disc said, on August 2, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first go to see at this wweb page, and piece of writing
    is actually fruitful designed for me, keep up posting these types oof posts.

  19. botanique at bartley said, on September 13, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to keep
    a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

